Skip to main content

Five-council launch area: methodology

How HotWaterWise calculates

HotWaterWise is a planning tool for Brisbane, Moreton Bay, Logan, Ipswich and Redlands. It combines submitted values with disclosed model assumptions. Results are estimates, not quotes, guarantees or recommendations.

Calculator by calculator

How each estimate works

Household Usage

How much hot water does the household use?

Inputs that matter
Household size, showers, baths and separately answered dishwasher and washing-machine hot-water connections.
How the estimate is made
Fixture use and connected-appliance contributions become a whole-household daily demand at 60 °C equivalent. Uncertain appliance connections use disclosed planning contributions and are marked assumed.
What the estimate leaves out
Appliance-internal heating and cold washes are excluded. This demand estimate is not a meter reading or a household bill.

Hot Water Cost

What could each of the five systems cost to run?

Inputs that matter
The submitted system, household demand, electricity and gas rates, gas-supply details and any confirmed LPG charges.
How the estimate is made
The same hot-water demand is converted to input energy for each system, then multiplied by its applicable usage rate. A valid Household Usage total replaces the per-person fallback without adding appliances again.
What the estimate leaves out
The five-system comparison shows variable energy costs. Fixed supply charges, purchase, installation and maintenance sit outside those figures. Gas comparisons can be unavailable when no applicable gas rate exists.

Heat Pump Payback

How does a heat-pump replacement compare with the current system?

Inputs that matter
Current hot-water cost or system details, household demand, applicable rates and a full installed price from the planning benchmark or an installer quote.
How the estimate is made
The signed annual running-cost difference is compared with the full submitted installed cost. Payback appears only for a positive annual saving; 5, 10, 15 and 20 years are fixed planning horizons.
What the estimate leaves out
The estimate does not predict system life or warranty. Rebates, finance, inflation and future tariff changes are not applied automatically.

Electric vs Gas

How do two selected systems compare on the same demand?

Inputs that matter
Distinct current and proposed systems, household demand, applicable electricity or gas rates and gas-supply details.
How the estimate is made
Both selected systems use the same thermal demand. Their annual and monthly usage costs and annual input-energy equivalents are shown with a signed current-minus-proposed difference.
What the estimate leaves out
The difference is not a recommendation or a whole-bill comparison. Fixed supply, equipment, installation, rebates and maintenance are excluded from the usage-cost difference.

Shared detail

Assumptions, exclusions and evidence

The sections below explain the common thermal model, rates, solar treatment, payback and public sources used across the calculators.

01
Energy model
Thermal demand and system input energy

Each calculator starts with the same hot-water energy demand, then applies the selected system's efficiency or heat-pump COP.

thermal kWh/day = litres/day × 4.186 kJ/(L·K) × 39 K ÷ 3600

The model uses a 21 °C cold-water planning reference and 60 °C hot-water reference. The resulting 39 K lift is annualised over 365 days. Electric input is thermal kWh divided by electric efficiency or heat-pump COP. Gas input is thermal kWh × 3.6 MJ/kWh divided by gas efficiency. Cost then uses the selected variable usage rate in $/kWh or $/MJ.

Planning values are 90% for electric storage, 55% for gas storage, 78% for instantaneous gas and COP 3.0 for a heat pump. They are planning assumptions, not ratings for a particular product or property.

Efficiency is the share of input energy delivered as useful hot water: 0.90 means 90%. Heat-pump COP compares useful heat with electricity input: 3.00 means 3 kWh of heat per 1 kWh of electricity. The gas-boosted solar value is the share of hot-water demand met by solar collectors: 0.70 means 70%. Its remaining gas demand uses a separate 80% booster-efficiency assumption. These planning numbers have no kWh or MJ unit; the table names the input-energy unit used to calculate running cost.

System performance planning assumptions
System and measurePlanning valueRange minimumRange maximumInput energy unitNote
Electric storageEfficiency0.900.850.95kWhTypical AS/NZS 4234 Zone 3 medium-load planning benchmark; not a product rating.
Gas storageEfficiency0.550.550.55MJTypical AS/NZS 4234 Zone 3 medium-load planning benchmark; not a product rating or range.
Instantaneous gasEfficiency0.780.780.78MJTypical AS/NZS 4234 Zone 3 medium-load planning benchmark; not a product rating or range.
Heat pumpCoefficient of performance (COP)3.00Not specifiedNot specifiedkWhEffective Stage 1 planning COP, not a product or Greater Brisbane climate rating. No universal min/max range is claimed; actual performance varies by product, climate, draw profile and controls.
Gas-boosted solar hot waterSolar contribution0.700.550.85MJSolar FRACTION (share of thermal demand met by roof collectors). The remaining fraction is met by a gas-fired booster using the user’s gas tariff. NOT a COP — auxiliary energy is metered in MJ.
02
Household usage
How fixture use becomes 60 °C-equivalent demand

Household Usage estimates daily demand from entered activities. Without that result, the cost calculators use 50 L per person per day.

Shower and bath volumes are modelled as 40 °C mixed water and ordinary tap use as 30 °C mixed water, then converted to the equivalent thermal demand at 60 °C. The shower planning flow is 9 L/min. A bath uses the130 L planning allowance. Ordinary taps use 5 minutes × 9 L/min once per household, not once per person.

Appliance label water is total appliance water, not automatically water drawn from the household hot-water service. Household Usage therefore asks separately whether each appliance uses a connected hot inlet. A connected dishwasher contributes 11 L per cycle, the rounded unweighted registered-model median. A connected washing machine contributes 20 L at 60 °C equivalent per warm/hot wash, derived from the median warm-minus-cold labelled energy of eligible dual-inlet registrations without internal heaters. Neither value is an Australian household average.

“No” contributes zero. “Not sure” uses the same arithmetic as a confirmed connection but is visibly marked assumed. Cold washes and appliance-internal electrical heating are not counted as household water-heater demand. Each appliance contribution is cycles/week × planning litres/cycle ÷ 7, rounded to whole litres/day before summing. If no Household Usage result is supplied, cost calculators use 50 L/person/day. If a valid Household Usage total is supplied, it takes precedence without adding appliance demand twice.

Current defaults include 6 shower minutes per person/day and 1 bath/week; the form allows these values to be changed.

03
Solar thermal and rooftop PV
Two different technologies, two different treatments

Gas-boosted solar hot water uses solar collectors and a gas booster. Rooftop solar PV receives no numerical credit.

Solar thermal roof collectors and a storage tank, with a gas-fired booster that tops up the water when solar contribution is insufficient.

booster input MJ = annual thermal kWh × 0.3 × 3.6 ÷ 0.8

The disclosed model assumes 70% of thermal demand is met by solar collectors and 30% by a gas booster operating at80% planning efficiency. The 70% figure is a solar thermal fraction, not gas-appliance efficiency or rooftop-PV self-consumption.

The calculators do not ask whether the household has rooftop PV. Household rooftop-PV self-consumption is excluded from electric cost and payback estimates because the available inputs cannot quantify it reliably. No fixed percentage or tariff discount is applied. Rooftop PV is not used to reduce modelled gas consumption or gas costs. Actual electric costs and savings can differ. Rooftop PV remains distinct from solar hot water.

A water heater on a separate Energex controlled-load/economy circuit cannot directly use the household’s rooftop PV under that documented wiring arrangement. A heater on the household’s general circuit may use PV only when operation overlaps available generation, but HotWaterWise has insufficient inputs to quantify that overlap.

04
Rates and cost scope
Usage costs and separate service charges

Mains gas uses the disclosed planning tariff or a rate entered from a bill. Standard 45 kg LPG bottles use a separate bottle-price and charge model.

  • General electricity: 28.5 ¢/kWh.
  • Controlled load: 20.5 ¢/kWh.
  • Mains gas planning default: 3.4 ¢/MJ.
  • Mains gas tariff “not sure” representative: 3.6 ¢/MJ. An unknown gas supply is not assigned this tariff.

Controlled load and general electricity remain distinct selections. Custom rates are used only with their matching custom mode. The calculations exclude fixed daily supply charges, account fees, connection/disconnection costs and future tariff changes. The Electric vs Gas result is therefore a variable-energy-cost comparison, not a total-bill comparison.

For 45 kg LPG bottles, annual gas input is divided by 2,232 MJ per nominal full bottle (45 kg × 49.6 MJ/kg, gross propane energy). The system efficiencies and the 70% solar-thermal / 30% residual gas-boosting split are unchanged. The resulting annualised bottle count is not rounded up to purchases or deliveries.

Enter the usual ongoing price for one 45 kg refill or exchange from a bill or supplier. Exclude one-off introductory promotions or credits, separately itemised delivery, and annual bottle rental or service charges. A bounded Greater Brisbane price check on 19 September 2026 did not establish comparable public ongoing prices, so no indicative bottle price is supplied. No delivery, collection, rental or service cost is assumed.

A confirmed separate delivery fee is divided by the bottles in that order, then multiplied by annual hot-water bottles. Collection and delivery with no separate charge add nothing; unknown delivery is excluded and labelled unknown. Annual rental/service charges remain separate whole-service costs. Hot Water Cost and Heat Pump Payback include them as savings only when their amount is confirmed and LPG would be discontinued. Electric vs Gas keeps its usage-only difference and shows potentially avoidable fixed costs separately. Unknown charges and cancellation costs are excluded. Other bottle sizes, bulk tanks and unknown gas supplies cannot produce a guessed gas estimate.

Sources: DCCEEW energy conversion (2024, Table 9).

Evidence and volatile defaults are reviewed quarterly and when a material tariff, program or source changes. Stable technical evidence receives an annual deep review. Values are not refreshed continuously.

05
Payback
Heat-pump saving and payback semantics

Payback compares annual running costs with the full submitted installed cost.

annual saving = current-system usage cost − heat-pump usage cost + confirmed avoidable LPG fixed charges (if applicable)

payback years = full installed cost ÷ annual saving

If Hot Water Cost supplies a valid submitted current-system cost, that amount takes precedence over a new estimate of the current cost. The default installed-cost benchmark is $3,875 equipment + $600 installation = $4,475 before incentives. It is not an incremental cost versus another replacement and is not a quote.

Payback is not shown when annual saving is zero or negative. Signed annual differences are preserved. Net positions subtract the installed cost from the signed annual running-cost difference × year and are shown automatically after 5, 10, 15 and 20 years. These are fixed planning horizons, not predicted equipment life, warranty or guaranteed performance. No discount rate, inflation, tariff escalation or financing is introduced. Rebates and STCs are not applied automatically. Use a current net installer quote if an incentive is reflected in it.

06
Incentives
Rebates and STCs are informational

Eligibility and program values can change, so they remain outside the calculator arithmetic.

No Queensland heat-pump rebate is assumed. Eligible systems may receive federal STCs; verify current eligibility and assistance on official Queensland and Clean Energy Regulator sources.

07
Evidence and coverage
Sources and postcode coverage

The estimates combine published evidence, entered values and clearly labelled planning assumptions.

The five-council postcode helper uses mapped physical addresses, not an Australia Post postcode directory. Postal codes absent from that address evidence may remain unresolved. Where mapped addresses support more than one area, a suggested majority choice can be changed; it does not confirm an individual property's council.

Incorporates or developed using G-NAF © Geoscape Australia licensed by the Commonwealth of Australia under the Open Geo-coded National Address File (G-NAF) End User Licence Agreement. Incorporates or developed using Administrative Boundaries © Geoscape Australia licensed by the Commonwealth of Australia under CC BY 4.0. Source owners do not endorse HotWaterWise.

Last reviewed: .

Check the calculator result’s disclosed inputs, a current bill and a written installer quote. See the Disclaimer before relying on an estimate.